At 1486 m. With breathtaking views of Mont Blanc, it is an unmissable stop: restaurants, shops, Sainte Anne chapel, in summer, starting points for hikes, farms selling Reblochon cheese and cows in the pastures.
The History of the Col des Aravis:
Construction of the Col des Aravis road began in 1880. In 1886, a tunnel was bored on the descent towards La Giettaz.
The pass road was opened in 1902.
Until 1925, the Col des Aravis was the midday stop on the Annecy-Thônes-Chamonix tourist route.
La Clusaz was very geographically isolated, and this road was therefore crucial to the village's tourism development. Horse-drawn carriages, then stagecoaches, and later coaches climbed the pass. The Route des Alpes was created. During the summer of 1932, 500 vehicles crossed the pass...
Today, the pass is a must-see on the Route des Grandes Alpes®, which connects Lake Geneva and Thonon-les-Bains (Haute-Savoie) to the Mediterranean Sea and Nice (Alpes-Maritimes).
The Col des Aravis is renowned for its steep gradients.
The Col des Aravis has been crossed a total of 38 times by the Tour de France, 19 of them since 1947. It has been classified as a Category 2 climb on its last three appearances. The ascent can be made from Thônes (Fier Valley, northwest, 18.9 km via the D909) or from Flumet (Arly Valley, southeast, 11.5 km via the D909). Along the way, you'll find various restaurants and shops, parking areas, a chapel, hiking trails, pastures, and a breathtaking view of Mont Blanc!
Pets allowed
Pets not allowed